Board of Trustees

2019-2020 ISD Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the school’s governing body. There are nine Trustees who are parents or legal guardians of current students at the school. Trustees are volunteers and are elected by ISD parents and faculty through an annual election process. Trustees serve a two year term and may run as candidates in the elections to serve further terms.

The Trustees are joined by two non-voting representatives: a US Ambassador’s Representative and a Faculty Representative. The Director, the Elementary Principal, and the Secondary Principal also participate as non-voting members of the Board.

The Board meets monthly from August to May. Parents, legal guardians, and faculty are invited to attend Board meetings as observers. The Board can be contacted at


Parents and faculty are welcome to view the Board agendas and minutes, as well as the Board Policy. To access the Board Agendas & Minutes page linked below, email

Meet the 2021-2022 ISD Board of Trustees

Birame Sock.png

Birame Sock

Board Chair

Birame N. Sock was elected to the Board in August 2020. She has one daughter in elementary school at ISD. Birame is a tech entrepreneur now living in Senegal after over 25 years in the US. A Senegalese native, Birame lived in several African counties (Kenya, Congo, Niger, Senegal) prior to moving to the US for college. 


Aylin Karahan


Aylin was elected to the Board in April 2017 and is the Board's Vice-Chair and Chair of the Buildings and Grounds Committee. She previously served as a Trustee from 2007-2010. Aylin has one child in Middle School and one child who graduated from ISD in 2020. She works as a property developer. Aylin is Turkish-American and has lived in Russia, Cyprus, Lebanon, Turkey, U.S.A., China, and Switzerland before settling as a permanent resident in Senegal.


Molly Glenn


Molly was elected to the Board in April 2019.  Molly has one child in High School and one child in Middle School. Molly is American and works with the U.S Government for Millennium Challenge Corporation on large-scale infrastrastructure, reform and rural access investments in the energy sector. This is her third time living in Senegal since 2008 and has previously lived in Mali, Burkina Faso, Malawi and London.

Screen Shot 2018-10-25 at 9.15.56 AM.png

Sadia Asim


Sadia was elected to the Board in April 2017 and has been the Board Secretary since August 2018. She has two children at ISD, both in elementary school. As an HR Professional, Sadia has worked with various multinationals. She currently works as a freelance consultant and is completing her second master's degree in organizational and business psychology. Sadia is Pakistani and has previously lived in Nigeria.

Carlo Cassina Photo.jpeg

Carlo Cassina


Carlo was elected to the board in June 2021 after joining the Policy Committee in 2019 as a parent expert. He has one daughter in the elementary school at the ISD. He is an Italian attorney with over 15 years of experience in Labour Law, Real Estate, Litigation and Contracts. Before coming to Dakar, Carlo lived in Italy, England, Switzerland, Thailand and Malaysia


Alexandra Gifford


Alexandra Gifford joined the board in June 2021. Alex has three children at ISD; a daughter in 9th grade, a son in 5th grade, and a daughter in 1st grade. Alex has served on the PTO since coming to Dakar in 2018, currently serving as the Treasurer and main PTO Representative.

Hou Xiaojing Photo.JPG

Xiaojing 'Kate' Hou


Xiaojing (Kate) was elected to the Board in June 2021. She has one daughter at ISD in 1st Grade and one 3-year-old son. Xiaojing is a Chinese citizen, and her husband is Austrian. Prior to moving to Dakar, she lived in China (Beijing, Guangzhou), Austria, Malaysia and Brunei. Xiaojing has degrees in mechanical (bachelor’s) and petroleum engineering (master’s) which she acquired in Australia and China. Xiaojing worked for Samsung and Motorola before.

(Meade) ISD Board Profile Pic.jpg

Jeff Meade


Jeff Meade was appointed to the Board of Trustees in August, 2021. He has two daughters at ISD, in 3rd grade and Pre-K4. Jeff is a teacher, having taught in South Africa and in the United States, after serving as a Smithsonian Museum educator for many years. He currently teaches the middle school International Section at Lycée Jean Mermoz.

S.Afua Manyo-Plange Pic.jpg

S. Afua Manyo-Plange


Afua joined the Board in June 2021. She moved to Dakar last year after living in South Africa for 10 years. Afua is a New Yorker with Ghanaian roots. She has 3 children at ISD, a son in Kindergarten, a daughter in the 6th grade and a son in the 9th grade. She has lived in Ghana, India and Malawi. As a demographer and health researcher, she has worked for US health agencies and across various African countries. 

Non-Voting Representatives
Mark Wilson Amb. Rep 2021.jpg

Mark Wilson

US Ambassador's Representative

Mark began serving as the US Ambassador’s Representative in June 2021. He moved to Dakar in August 2019 with his family. He has two children in middle school. Mark is the Director of the Democracy Rights Governance and Peace Office at USAID. From 2001-2003 Mark was a Peace Corps volunteer in Kaolack and speaks French and Wolof. 


Ross Bair

Faculty Representative

Ross will serve as the faculty representative to the board. He serves as the Science Head of Department, teaches Biology, Environmental Systems and Societies, Theory of Knowledge and is a member of the Director’s Advisory Council. Additionally, his wife teaches 4th grade and their twins are in the eighth grade this year. He is originally from the United States and has taught at schools there, in Taiwan, and this is his third year at ISD.

Non-Voting Administrators

Dr. Lorne Bird




Kelly Chumrau

Elementary Principal